Legal Question in Traffic Law in North Carolina

College student receives first speeding ticket

My daughter is at college in Winston-Salem and got a speeding ticket returning back to the dorms at 2 AM from work. The police lowered the amount over from 21 mph to 9 and told her to appear in court. She has never had a ticket and does not know what to do. How much will it cost? Can she have her license suspended? What is this prayer of judgement and should she use it?

Asked on 2/11/05, 10:05 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Timothy Burch Burch Law Office

Re: College student receives first speeding ticket

if she has never had a ticket, then the reduction by the officer to 9 miles over the speed limit is a good result. If they charged her with speeding in excess of 10 miles per hour over the speed limit, then you have some reason for concern. As it stands, 9 miles over will cost her $110.00 (court costs plus a $10 fine). If she is on an insurance policy with other members of the family, then violations of family members need to be considered. You can always call your insurance company and advise them (not necessarily of the inital speed(21 MPH over), but of the 9 miles over and they should be able to confirm that this will have no impact on insurance since it is a waivable offense in North Carolina(again, other violations by other family members could change a lawyer's advice)

Read more
Answered on 2/11/05, 10:43 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Traffic Law questions and answers in North Carolina