Legal Question in Technology Law in Pennsylvania

Basically, two former friends of mine have created this "secret" group. A "secret" facebook group is a group designed that nobody can search, see or know of its existence unless you are in the group--and you can only join if you are invited. They created this group in an attempt to ruin my reputation. It is basically just a hate group where they just write lies of everything negative about me. It soon escalated to where everyone at my current university is part of the group. People just make posts writing lies and whatnot of anything they can think of about me. It has completely ruined my reputation on campus, as well as my former job. The difficult part is the "secret" nature of this whole thing. There is no way I can gain access the group. So do I have a case?- because I technically cannot prove that it exist unless I get access to the group, and I can only get access if someone invites me. Is there anything a lawyer could do to subpoena the people I know is behind this so I someone could put a stop to this?

there was a case very similar to this in the new york supreme court this year. it seems she is suing facbook as well, which also seems to be pretty useless because they are pretty protected. i don't wish to sue anyone really. i just want this to stop, and if I have to sue, I will (if I have a case). would a scary letter of some type (cease and desist?) from a lawyer work? thanks for any help guys and yes I am progress of talking to a lawyer now. which type should I go for?--a internet law one or a libel/slander/defamation type one?

Asked on 12/28/09, 1:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Sarah Grosse Sarah Grosse, Esquire

How much money do you have to spend on this issue? If money is unlimited, I'm sure an attorney will fight for you and may even win (like the OJ dream team). But, what in the world do you actually want for nothing?

Read more
Answered on 1/02/10, 5:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Computer & Technology Law questions and answers in Pennsylvania