Legal Question in Consumer Law in Rhode Island

Marine Surveyor Liablitiy

liablity regarding the performance of a ''Marine Survey.'' It was performed in Wariwck, R.I. by a company out of West Mystic, CT., on Oct. 8, 2008. I just launched the boat this past week and have found that I may have a bad trasmission that the surveyor had not found/noted. However, I just noticed in the surveyors report on the last page it states; ''This report states in part; ''This report is no way to be misconstrued as a warrantee or guarantee of the vessel or its equipment therin. This survey details the condition of the vesse at the time of the inspection and reprsents the undersigned's unbiased opion but by submitting this durvey does not hold the surveyor liable for any reliance on information based on this survey.'' I didn't see this statement until I found a problem and was going to contect him. Not liable for anything? Why have a survey performed? Legal in R.I.

Asked on 5/04/09, 11:00 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Nancy Wildes Attorney Nancy E. Wildes

Re: Marine Surveyor Liablitiy

The disclaimer may not necessarily protect the surveyor from all liablity. An accurate answer will depend upon the purpose of the survey and for whom it was done among other factors.

Read more
Answered on 5/04/09, 10:16 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Rhode Island