Legal Question in Real Estate Law in South Carolina

Land Locked Lawes

My grandmother bought 100 acres of land 63+ years ago that contained a driveway from the street to her house. Over time my mother purchessed 25 acres from her within the 100 and built her home along side of grandmothers house. She also uses the same driveway to access her home. Years after my moms purchess, her brother bought 30 acres from grandmother which included the driveway to the two homes. He cut a new driveway to his home at the other end of the land he purchessed. Here is the problem, My grandmothers house and additional land is available for purchess from the estate. I want to purchess the property but find I'm unable to get a loan because grandmothers property is landlocked. The banks reason is becaused the driveway is owned by another individual. The brother is unwilling to sell the strip of land that contains the driveway to my moms or gandmothers. Are there any laws that protect this type of thing happening?

Asked on 8/31/03, 5:21 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Otto Ferrene, jr. Ferrene & Associates, PA

Re: Land Locked Lawes

The general rule is that you can landlock yourself but you cannot landlock others. To see if it applies in your case, visit with an attorney. I believe you can be helped.

Read more
Answered on 9/01/03, 1:02 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in South Carolina