Legal Question in Employment Law in Tennessee

Can a employer replace an employee with a new employee because they think the current employee is leaving the job in the next month or so. Also, is there thing that can be done if an employer tells the current employee that they have already been replaced because they thought they were leaving even though the current employee has not turned in a formal resignation? Thanks for your help.

Asked on 8/03/10, 11:41 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

James R. Becker, Jr. Becker Law Firm

In Tennessee, you are an employee at the will of your employer. This means that you can be fired for any reason, good or bad, unless it fits within one of the exceptions to the employment at-will doctrine.

Read more
Answered on 8/10/10, 7:05 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Labor and Employment Law questions and answers in Tennessee