Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Texas

I am unable to afford an attorney so I have to file myself, I haven't had the best like finding info so I was unable to beat the sale of my home. The morning of sale my husband let our home owner financer's lawyer know we were selling. We didn't see any info. about our house in the auction so assumed they stopped. Yesterday I got an eviction notice...three days to vacate. We were going to file jointly but now I am wondering is filing seperately might buy us some time. We have no money, no car, and no where to go with a 2 & 3 year old. We need time, before my husbands accident we were researching suing our home owner financer because we believe we've been victims of a scam. Also, How do I list my home now? To me it's still my home.

Asked on 10/04/12, 9:47 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

If you get your bankruptcy filed NOW, the automatic stay will prevent the eviction. You should get it filed NOW.

Read more
Answered on 10/05/12, 12:09 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Texas