I have been charged with a first time offense a class b misdemeanor in the state of Texas, Harris county for theft. I was not arrested but they gave me a citation and a court date for may 5th, 2020. I don’t know if I should be worried and hire a lawyer or what?
1 Answer from Attorneys
If it is a Class B misdemeanor, it carries a punishment range, should you be convicted of a fine from $0 to $2,000 and in addition to or instead of, confinement in jail for a term not to exceed 180 days. In many instances, probation is the more likely outcome. Any time you are accused of a crime, you should retain a qualified criminal defense attorney, preferably a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist.
It is without question that with the assistance of a qualified attorney, your outcome will be much better. I have many cases where we are able to avoid a conviction all together and subsequently have the entire criminal record erased. Being charged and convicted of a criminal offense will appear on background checks for the remainder of your life. A theft conviction is considered a crime involving moral turpitude (dishonesty) and bars you from many professions and professional licenses, can effect the ability to obtain loans, lease apartments and the like.
Contact a Board Certified Criminal Law Specialist to put you mind at ease and improve your end game.
Related Questions & Answers
An investigator is asking me to come talk about a fight i had with my brother . Do i... Asked 4/15/20, 11:12 am in United States Texas Criminal Law
I have a question and could really use some advice, please. I was living with this... Asked 2/12/20, 8:49 pm in United States Texas Criminal Law
Can a deputy leave my 88 year old grandmother a subpoena and ask her to give it to... Asked 2/09/20, 12:51 pm in United States Texas Criminal Law
My son is being charged with a 2nd degree felony and was 16yrs old at the time the... Asked 1/20/20, 4:02 pm in United States Texas Criminal Law
In Texas if you are a passenger in a vehicle that is stopped for missing a front... Asked 1/14/20, 10:03 pm in United States Texas Criminal Law