Legal Question in Family Law in Texas

Texas Annulment Rules....

Was hoping to find out what the Texas Laws say about annulment of marriage and what is the time frame of annuling my marriage. We have been married for 6 months. Would I qualify for annulment?

Asked on 7/02/01, 2:56 pm

2 Answers from Attorneys

Fran Brochstein Attorney & Mediator

Re: Texas Annulment Rules....

Section 6.101 - 6111 of the Texas Family Code covers annulment.

As Stephanie Shipp explained in her post, annulment is very limited in Texas.

Usually it is easier just to do a divorce.

Best of luck to you!

Read more
Answered on 7/03/01, 7:45 pm

Re: Texas Annulment Rules....

Contrary to popular belief, annulment is not available just because you have been married only for a short time. Whether or not a marriage can be annuled depends on whether or not it is a voidable marriage. Marriages are voidable only in very special situations - underage of one party, impotency, fraud or duress or force, such excessive intoxication that a party could not have consented to the marriage, mental incapacity, or marriage within the 72 hour period after the license was granted or if one party got divorced and then remarried within the same 30 day period. Even under these circumstances, which make a marriage voidable at the option of either party, there are significant restrictions on the availability of an annulment as the means to end the marriage.

Probably what you need is just a garden variety divorce. Feel free to contact me at (832)443-7170 if you should need legal representation. Be sure to mention that you were referred by

Best of Luck

Stephanie T. shipp

Attorney At Law

Read more
Answered on 7/02/01, 7:42 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in Texas