Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in Texas

I took over a lease agreement from prior tenant officially. The title of agreement was transferred to me already. But I found bedbugs when I moved in the apartment. Apparently both landlord and prior tenant know the situation since the prior tenant even order the bedbug inspection. But they didn't tell me about the situation. Given the circumstance, can I breach the lease without any breach charge?

Asked on 1/06/14, 7:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Mark Dunn Mark D. Dunn

A residential lease carries an implied warranty of habitability. Tell the landlord to fix this immediately or you will move out. Put this in writing (paper letter - keep a copy for your records).

Read more
Answered on 1/07/14, 10:04 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in Texas