Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Texas

hi, can a builder advertise on MLS a property I already paid earnest money towards and have a contract on before the expiration of the contract? The said property has been showing "off market" until today (03/21/2018) when it came back up as new listing in MLS. I am still very interested in purchasing the property and I have not indicated I cannot close on March 31st, 2018 as stated in the contract signed with the builder.

Asked on 3/21/18, 10:16 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Joseph A. McDermott, III Attorney at Law

The question is not whether he can advertise or show the property but whether he can sell it to someone besides you. Are you prepared to close in accordance with the terms of your contract?

Read more
Answered on 3/22/18, 7:23 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Texas