Legal Question in Construction Law in Utah

I recently had a flood in my basement. Per my insurance company instructions I called a restoration company. They came out to my home and while I was on the phone placed a contract in front of me and told me this would allow them to get started, so I signed it without reading it. After the work was started and we were going over the agreement I found that I did not agree to their business practices and told them to stop any further work. My question is: am I bound by this work authorization and agreement even if it was signed during a time of chaos and with them verbally telling me it was a contract allowing them to get started?

Asked on 12/06/11, 9:58 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Alvin Lundgren Alvin R. Lundgren, L.C.

The law assumes you read what you sign. Talk to your insurance company for help.

Read more
Answered on 12/06/11, 12:46 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Construction Law questions and answers in Utah