Legal Question in Consumer Law in Virginia

We came to a Spa in Virginia. We've been coming for about once every few months for a few years and the charge was $35 every 24 hours we stay. Last month, they changed their policy to $40 every 12 hours without telling us there was a change. We came out 13.5 hours after we entered, and their defense was that the policy was in effect for a month already and they put up three signs. One in the bulletin board off to the side, and one in each of the changing rooms. We tried explaining that we weren't told of the policy and had no reason to expect any changes but they made us pay. Is there anything we can do? Can we legally make a chargeback?

Asked on 3/31/13, 10:17 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

Sure, you could take it up with your card issuer and request a chargeback,

but whether the issuer would investigate the matter to its satisfaction that

such (chargeback) should occur under these facts would seem problematical to me.

Read more
Answered on 3/31/13, 10:27 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Consumer Law questions and answers in Virginia