Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in Virginia

My mom is in a nursing home with advanced dementia and she was recently sent a warrant in debt. She obviously cannot go to court, so does that mean they can garnish the little social security income that she has left?

Asked on 11/28/11, 10:15 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Hendrickson Law Office Michael E. Hendrickson

No, it does not. (SS benefit payouts are not subject to the claims of private creditors.)

Read more
Answered on 11/28/11, 11:40 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in Virginia