Legal Question in Real Estate Law in Washington

quitclaim deed for and in consideration of

My cousin in Maryland is orchestrating the selling of a very small piece of land near Lake Sammamish, WA. There are 6 great-grandchildren (including me) who will divide the proceeds of the sale. The total selling prices is $4,200, so each of us gets $700. My cousin, an attorney in Maryland, sent me a copy of a quitclaim deed that is acceptable in Maryland. He suggested that I double check to make sure it is acceptable in Washington. I found the documents website on the King County Webpage, and printed off a copy of the quitclaim deed document, but I'm not sure what to put in the blank space after "for and in consideration of." My cousin said that in Maryland the wording is: "Ten dollars and other valuable consideration" no matter what the selling price. Is that also the case in Washington? Or should I insert "Seven Hundred and no/100 Dollars ($700.00)" ? Thank you.

Asked on 5/01/98, 6:59 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Gary Preble Preble Law Firm, P.S.

For and in consideration

That's just fine in WA. Be sure to have 1' margins to comply with the new law.

Read more
Answered on 5/22/98, 8:58 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Real Estate and Real Property questions and answers in Washington