Maryland | Criminal Law
Legal Question
I broke up with a "gentleman" months ago because he had serious anger issues. He continued to text his undying love, so last Friday I blocked him from my cell phone. That night my tires were slashed. I have no proof it was he, but seriously....Can I get a "peace order" without that proof, in Maryland?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: M. D. Wilks |
It is definitely possible. Maryland is serious about domestic violence issues because so many women have been hurt or killed - some after having their requests denied. Some of the domestic violence cases have been in the news. Remember the lady whose ex set her on fire? Please take this seriously.
If you have transcriptions of your text messages see if you can get them on paper. Your phone company may be able to help you - or they may refuse to do it without a court subpoena. Definitely save them in your phone.
Did you report the slashed tires to the police AND take pictures? Document everything.
Be careful. And if you do happen to ever speak to him again - tell him that if he loved you he would get anger management classes and not subject you to this type of fear. He needs to go work on his issues - separately from you. Do not make his issues your issues.
Good luck. Be careful. Call a lawyer if you need help. There probably a lot of free help for these types of issues. Check the internet and/or call/go to the court house and ask. Prince George's County does have a free family law clinic.
|
Top Attorneys in MD
Law Offices of G. Joseph Holthaus
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 1946
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
Law Office of Jason Cleckner, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 859
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-20
William L. Welch, III Attorney
Baltimore, MD
Questions Answered: 818
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Steven J. Scheinin, Lawyer
Towson, MD
Questions Answered: 594
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-21
Law Office of William C. Wood, LLC
Ellicott City, MD
Questions Answered: 403
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-25
Joseph, Greenwald & Laake, P.A.
Greenbelt, MD
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-07
Alan S. Albin, Attorney at Law
Morristown, NJ
Questions Answered: 351
Last Question Aswered on: 2005-05-13
Uptown Law, LLC
Rockville, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-05-15
Law Office of Joseph Laumann, PA
Annapolis, MD
Questions Answered: 124
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-06-11
Burton J. Haynes, P.C.
Burke, VA
Questions Answered: 107
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-01
Search Questions and Answers


