Legal Question in Bankruptcy in Alabama

I own a house that is worth no more than $10,000. If I sell this house and use the proceeds to pay last year's federal income taxes and for my child's orthodontic treatment, and then file Chapter 7 bankruptcy within 6 - 12 months, will the real estate transaction be retroactively set aside by a bankruptcy trustee as unfair to other creditors?

Asked on 6/03/12, 10:22 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Andersen Charles Andersen, Atty
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I own a house It might be. But check and see if the IRS has a secured lien on the house already.

Read more
6/03/12, 12:25 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in Alabama

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8782 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now