Alabama | Technology Law
Legal Question
tape recording
can I tape record a conversation I am having with someone without thier knowledge
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Gordon Firemark |
Re: tape recording This is somewhat state-law specific. If both caller and recipient are in the same state, the issue can be resolved by reference only to that state's laws.
If, however, you're calling between states, each state's law will come into play, as may federal wiretap restrictions.
Note: In some states (such as California) surreptitious recording of conversations (whether live, or telephonic), is a CRIME, and can subject you to fines and imprisonment.
It's probably a good idea to just start the conversation with "you don't mind if I record this, do you?"
If they refuse, just politely insist that they put their thoughts down in writing. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Robert Kreitlein, Attorney at Law
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 123
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-04-20
Underwood & Reimer, P.C.
Mobile, AL
Questions Answered: 83
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-02
Elias Stassinos, Esq.
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-05
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Lane, Sash, Larrabee LLP
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 7
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-10
Daryl W. Moon, Attorney at Law
Florence, AL
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2003-03-07
Eitan Pearl Latzer & Cohen zedek
Herzalia, NUS
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
William Sullivan
Lincoln, AL
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


