Alabama  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
9/14/03, 3:03 pm

Legal Question


Posting of debt on credit reports, without notification

All three of my credit reports came up with an entry from the same collection agency. Debt is in excess of $8,000. That i supposedly owe. I contacted the firm and they refuse to provide any written evidence i owe this debt, they indicate they sent a letter to my old address which i vacated less than a year ago. They refuse to provide any proof. I have disputed the entry and only one credit bureau has removed it, sent them a registered letter and no response. Spoke to an attorney and he wants $500.Oo to write them a letter, obviously if i owe them oney i cannot afford$500.Oo which i believe to be excessive. What are my rights. Also filed complaints with states attorney general office


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search