Alabama | Elder Law
Legal Question
power of attorney
A friend of mine has power of attorney for her elderly aunt who has Alzheimer's disease. The aunt is in an asisted living facility, has no children, and is quite wealthy. For all that she does for her aunt, my friend withdraws cash from the aunt's bank acct. With this money she has bought her son a car and pays all of his living expenses (he lives in the aunt's house). When the aunt's CD's mature, my friend cashes them in and deposits them into her bank acct. Cash birthday presents, vacations, home improvement projects, and farm equipment have all been financed by the aunt's monies. Is this legal?
The aunt has 2 living sisters who are heirs to her estate.


