Alabama | Sexual Harassment
Legal Question
Statue of limitations on filing a case
Filed a complaint three years ago and never followed-up.
Can I now??
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Michael McNair |
Re: Statue of limitations on filing a case Can't answer your question without more information. Where did you file your complaint? If you filed it with your employer only, then it is probably too late to pursue it further. If you filed it with the EEOC, then it depends on what they did with it. If you filed suit, then it depends on what the Court has done with it. Generally you have 180 days from the last act of discrimination/harassment to file a complaint with the EEOC. Once the EEOC finishes with it, they will issue you a "Right to Sue" letter. You then have 90 days from then to file suit. |
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1215
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Randal S. Ford, Attorney at Law
Tuscaloosa, AL
Questions Answered: 206
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-25
Underwood & Reimer, P.C.
Mobile, AL
Questions Answered: 83
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-02
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
The PARKS Law Group
Mobile, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-20
Redden, Mills & Clark
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 30
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-08-28
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Search Questions and Answers


