Alabama | Wills and Trusts
Legal Question
Wills
I have recently moved from WA. State tp Al. I would like to know if the will I made in Wa. is valid in Al. or should I make a new one.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Jon Lewis |
Re: Wills Yes, the will is valid if it is considered valid under Washington law - see the Alabama Code section below. However, if you no longer have property in Washington and/or if your life circumstances should change, I would have another will drafted in accordance with Alabama law (there may be few differences, but you might require more extensive estate planning).
Sincerely,
Jon E. Lewis; www.AlabamaPersonalInjury.com; jon@lewis-attorneys.com; (205) 254-3927; (888) 295-7409;
Section 43-8-135 Choice of law as to validity of execution. A written will is valid if executed in compliance with section 43-8-131 or if its execution complies with the law at the time of execution of the place where the will is executed, or with the law of the place where at the time of execution or at the time of death the testator is domiciled, has a place of abode or is a national.
|
Top Attorneys in AL
The Ryals Law Firm
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 1216
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Mari Morrison, P.C.
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 687
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-26
Murchison & Howard, LLC
Foley, AL
Questions Answered: 392
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Nolan Elder Law LLC
Hoover, AL
Questions Answered: 383
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-14
Lewis, Feldman, & Lehane, LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 252
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-19
Harville-Stein Law Offices, LLC
Birmingham, AL
Questions Answered: 43
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-22
Norma M. Chaviers, LLC
Albertville, AL
Questions Answered: 42
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-04-06
Forrester & Associates
Jacksonville, AL
Questions Answered: 41
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-09-23
McLaughlin & Edmondson, LLC
Guntersville, AL
Questions Answered: 24
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Search Questions and Answers


