Arizona | Technology Law
Legal Question
sell information online
Is it illegal to sell step by step information online on how people are downloading copyright programs, games, music albums and so on?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Lahser |
Re: sell information online How does it help to tell people how to obtain copyrighted works without permission from the owner? How would you feel if someone used your step-by-step guide and was later sentenced to a jail term? What if that person didn't understand that your step-by-step guide described a process that might be criminal? What if that person was a single parent? What would you do? Would you offer that person a refund? Care for their child while they were in jail?
I can appreciate copyright law may not be perfect, but selling, or even providing, information about how to disrespect the creativity of others does not make a positive contribution to our law or our society. So, a creative prosecutor might find a creative way of prosecuting this type of activity, even if a specific statute was not written to anticipate this behavior.
If you don't like our copyright system, get involved in changing the system. If you want to make money, look to the current statutory system to setup up an internet radio station, or whatever. Changes in the law do happen through activism by ordinary people. Lawyers and politicians are not the only people who decide what our laws do and protect. There is a lot not to like about our current system, particularly with regard to enforcement of copyright laws. Consider spending a little time reading about how the music industry goes about enforcing its rights.
|
Top Attorneys in AZ
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 292
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Warren R. Markowitz, Esq
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 245
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-05
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
Elias Stassinos, Esq.
Long Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 31
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-06-05
Alex Simanovsky & Associates, LLC
Atlanta, GA
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2000-10-18
Law Office of Andrew P. Lahser, PLC
Fountain Hills, AZ
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-21
The Law Office of John Burton, PLLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
karunamoorthy&sundar
Chennai, NUS
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Ohio University College of Business
Athens, OH
Questions Answered:
Last Question Aswered on: 0000-00-00
Search Questions and Answers


