Arizona | Intellectual Property
Legal Question
Testimonial use permission
I would like to use the thank you cards and letters from my clients in a testimonials page on my website. What kind of permissions do I need to get to do this? Is there a statute of limitations?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Andrew Lahser |
Re: Testimonial use permission Rhetorically, why would you want to publish thank you letters without your client's permission? By publishing them without permission, you may: 1) Tell the public about your private relationship; 2) Expose a communication where the other person may have had a social expectation of privacy; 3) Potentially reveal your client's confidential information; and 4) May make your client upset. Any of these may cause you to lose your client.
On the other hand, if you ask for your client's permission to publish, you will further honor your client by respecting them and valuing their relationship. Also, if a website-visitor directly contacts your client after reading your client's letter, then your client will be prepared for that sort of contact (and not surprised).
Given all the advantages and disadvantages, why not just get permission? It is easy to do, just ask. Follow up with a letter.
This is not legal advice, just information about good business practices. To provide legal advice (for example, about statutes of limitations), there must be sufficient information about the actual facts to properly apply the law to a situation.
|
Top Attorneys in AZ
The Law Offices of Donald W. Hudspeth, P.C.
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 311
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-01
TheCorporateAttorneys.com
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Private Practise
Mumbai, NUS
Questions Answered: 114
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-01-19
Lance S. Davidson, P.C.
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 68
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-06-07
The Gonzalez Law Office
Tucson, AZ
Questions Answered: 17
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-31
The Law Offices of Stephen Wade nebgen, PLLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Questions Answered: 9
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-27
Law Offices of Keith S. Knochel, P.C.
Bullhead City, AZ
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-24
Howard D. Leib, Esq.
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 6
Last Question Aswered on: 2002-07-31
Law Office of Andrew P. Lahser, PLC
Fountain Hills, AZ
Questions Answered: 5
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-10-21
The Law Office of John Burton, PLLC
Phoenix, AZ
Questions Answered: 4
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-11
Search Questions and Answers


