Arizona  |  Veterans Law

question bubble
8/29/10, 1:45 pm

Legal Question


I am a retired USAF veteran. Currently, I have been rated as 20% disabled by the VA. If I was retired Civil Service, I would be able to draw full retirement pay PLUS my VA disability pay. However, as I am retired military, my military retired pay is reduced by the amount that the VA pays me. Retirement pay is compensation for the years spent on active duty. Disability pay from the VA is compensation for injuries incurred while on active duty during time of war. I have been receiving 20% compensation since 1990. I feel that I am being discriminated against because of my service connected disability and am not being treated fairly under the law thereby violating the Federal Statutes governing Equal Opportunity and Treatment. Am I correct?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search