Arkansas | Real Estate Law
Legal Question
property by adverse ownership
Our house and attached deck have been standing since 1973. Approx. 3 years ago, our neighbors purchased and built their house on the lot adjoining our house next to our deck. Approx. 4-6 months ago our neighbors commented that our deck was encroaching their property by approx. 2-4 feet. No other comment was made other than we advised that our deck had been there since the house was built in 1973. Today they are threatening to petition our local surburban improvement committee if we don't remove or shorten the deck. I don't presently have income and wonder if there are ''adverse ownership'' laws in Arkansas that would protect me and save me expenses incurred in a suit? Can anyone offer advise without costs. I am not prepared at this time, it is a very inoportune time for me and my wife for this to come up at this time! We don't live in an incorporated community. We live in a surburban improvement district in Northwes Arkansas called Holiday Island. We do have a Chamber of Commerce.


