California  |  Disability Law

question bubble
5/16/07, 1:07 pm

Legal Question


I was Fired!

I have had ongoing medical issues for the past few months, I have gone in to the emergency room for hemoraging 3 times in the past 5 months. My Dr. was planning on starting an extensive treatment program and decided that I should be put on disabliity for at least 6 weeks. I informed my employer about the situation, advised them that it could possibly be longer than 6 wks if i undergo surgery. 2 weeks after I was placed on disablity I called my employer and she informed me that ''they would not be able to wait for me'' she emailed me a termination letter and advised me that I could re-apply in the future if I wanted to. Is this legal?? I thought that if I was placed on medical diability my job would be safe? I faxed them my Dr's note the day I received it.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search