California | Disability Law
5/22/09, 1:10 am
Legal Question
Labor Law
I have been on short-term disability and am wondering if and when my employer can fire me?
Labor Law
I have been on short-term disability and am wondering if and when my employer can fire me?
|
Read More Answered By: Joseph La Costa |
Re: Labor Law If this is based on a work disability no, This matter is complex and you should not try to do it yourself so you should get an attorney to discuss your options. If you are located in Southern California, you can email me your contact info, so we can discuss your particular situation. There is no charge for consultation. |
|
Read More Answered By: Terry A. Nelson |
Re: Labor Law If and when you are denied legally protected leave, or are illegally discriminated or retaliated against, then you can consider legal claims.
If your CA employer has at least 50 employees, and you are employed for at least 12 months, have at least 1,250 hours worked in the 12 months prior to the leave, then you would be eligible for 12 weeks of unpaid FMLA/CFRA medical leave when the employee is unable to work, or must care for an immediate family member, because of a ‘serious health condition’, continuation of group health benefits, restoration to the same or an equivalent job upon return to work, with accrued benefits.
If you are out longer than those guarantees, they can fire you.
Upon termination from employment, you are entitled to COBRA conversion of your medical benefits [if any], allowing you to pay for and retain your insurance coverage.
Now, if they violate those rules, contact me for the legal help you'll need.
|
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Irvine, CA
Questions Answered: 2061
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 1289
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Encino, CA
Questions Answered: 613
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-03-07
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
San Diego, CA
Questions Answered: 430
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-13
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 429
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-17
► Discrimination How do I file a claim in O.C. Calif Courts
► Felones exspoungments for people over 21 and off prole
► Employment for people with disabilities Hi I have a hearing loss meaning to say I...
► Hearing loss Hello I am hearing impaired and I wear 2 hearing aids. I could not...
► Laid off while on dissabilty was laid off while on therapy after total knee...
► Mental Illness I have been with my Employer for 15 + years, I have now been out on...
► Fired for disability i was fired from my job and the reason they gave me was i didnt...
More Disability Discrimination Law (ADA) questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press