California | Disability Law
Legal Question
My son-in-law has a seizure disorder normally controlled by medication. He had a seizure at work, his employer called an ambulance. Not necessary, his brother (who works there and has same disorder) stated he would take him to hospital once seizure had passed. They now don't want to pay medical bill. He is trying to transfer to a more local store to be with his family and the current store is requiring him to sign a letter stating that if he seizes at work, he will be responsible for any medical bills as a result of the seizure. This letter would of course follow him in his file. Is this legal? What if his current manager has told the store he's transferring to of his condition? Is that legal? His brother employed for 10 years with same store does not have this letter in his file.


