California | Disability Law
Legal Question
teaching with a disability
I am a high school ceramics teacher. I have recently been diagnosed with Parkinson's Disease. I find it is very difficult to watch all of my students to ensure acceptable behavior and to assist all of the students. I move too slowly and have lost my dexterity as well as I am no longer very sure of my balance. I have heard of other teachers receiving assistance in the form of an aid in the classroom. Is this available to me? What are my options to enable me to stay in my job for as long as possible?


