California  |  Administrative Law

question bubble
12/03/07, 1:43 pm

Legal Question


Relocate

I have an issue that Im trying to find

the best way to deal with. I

currently live in CA and originally

work for a company that was based

in CA when I was hired. The

business was bought out a year ago

(and they've kept me on board) by a

company based out of Colorado. I've

been making frequent trips back and

forth (maybe twice a month). I have

just been given somewhat of an

ulimatum.

''We want you to work for us, but we

need someone in our offices in

Colorado.''

While I undertstand where they are

coming from, I am not willing to

relocate and Im trying to gather and

understand my legal rights.

- If my reasoning for not relocating is

due to prior obligations ive had when

first hired (selling house, spouse

can't relocate thier job, family

obligations here in CA, etc), will I be

more likely entitled to somewhat of a

serverence package...things of that

nature?

Any advise would be greatly

appreciated as to help steer me in

the best direction as to the best

avenue to take with this (legally of

course). Thanks and i'm anxious to

hear what people have to say.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search