California | Administrative Law
Legal Question
I am a teacher's assistant in a school district. In my interview with the administrators I asked about holiday pay, and they said I had 11 vacation days to use over the holidays.
I have come to learn that this is true only after six years of service with the district.
This info is stated in the employee handbook that is given out to new employees, but I not read that section on holiday pay, because my question had already been answered (incorrectly) by the district administrators and HR people.
My question: Does the verbal information given out to me my the school administrators binding in any way? Or does the written information override the verbal information, even though it's incorrect?


