California  |  Appeals and Writs

question bubble
3/25/09, 11:04 pm

Legal Question


Is there an Appeal for this?

The City of Ridgecrest was recently

fined by the California Integrated

Waste Management Board for

$47,580 for non-compliance with a

State statute which requires that

cities recycle 50 percent of waste

generated as well as maintain a

recycling plan. The City has been

wronged in this matter. Is there a

Grand Jury that has jurisdiction

here? We feel that this is a

political/economic shakedown and

that the Board has greviously over-

reached. Our County Grand Jury

lacks jurisdiction here. What do we

do when a State Board acts

indiscriminately and maliciously? We

cannot afford a legal appeal and are

threatened by a million dollar fine if

we delay or complain? This isolated

High Desert community is an island

of ''red'' in an ocean of ''blue''. Any

advice? I am not a City official.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search