California | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
After an appeal has been given, how long can the case continue to be valid for the opposing side.
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward Hoffman |
Your question is unclear, but I think you're asking whether and how an appeal affects the validity of the judgment from which it was taken. The answer is that it doesn't. The judgment remains in place unless and until the appeal succeeds.
Many judgments can even be enforced while the appeal is pending, though the appellant will generally be allowed to post a bond or undertaking with the court to prevent this. The amount of the bond or undertaking is generally calculated from the size of the judgment. Appellants often cannot afford to post bonds or undertakings. When that happens they can seek relief from the bond requirement, but such relief is rarely granted.
The appeal can proceed regardless of whether a bond has been posted; the bond determines only whether the judgment can be enforced, not whether it can be appealed. This is not true in some states, where an appellant who fails to post a bond cannot proceed with his appeal at all. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Law Office of Joe Dane
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 990
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


