California | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
i won a small claims case for a car i bought that the dealer failed to put the tittle in my name. now he apeelled and filled bankruptcy. how can i get my money?
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Edward Hoffman |
Your remedy, if any, is in the bankruptcy court. If you can prove that the dealer defrauded you -- which is both costly and difficult -- then the debt will not be discharged. Otherwise you will be treated like other unsecured creditors. What that means in practical terms will depend upon the dealer's finances and the type of bankruptcy petition he has filed.
You should consult with a bankruptcy lawyer, since bankruptcy courts operate differently from most others.
Good luck. |
Top Attorneys in CA
Nelson & Lawless
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Edward A. Hoffman
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Law Offices of Georges H. Shers
Union City, CA
Questions Answered: 6114
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-15
Law Office of Anthony A. Roach
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Law Office Of Patrick L. McCrary
La Mesa, CA
Questions Answered: 2217
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
www.SelikLaw.com
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Larry Rothman & Associates
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
Law Office Of Robert McCoy
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
The Law Office of Daniel Bakondi, APLC
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
Law Office of Joe Dane
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 990
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Search Questions and Answers


