California  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
10/23/09, 1:43 am

Legal Question


i just purchased a home with another person, in a county where i have a abstract lien against me. i assume it will attach to this house. i am over 65 years old and believe i have a 150k exemption on the property. and the house is only valued at 70k will i be able to easily remove this lien in bankruptcy with a 522 motion. even if i wait another few years to file. the lien is already 5 years old.. if the creditor decides to renew it i will definitely want to file to clear it up. in case of my demise.. so that my heirs, or person owning other half of property wont be encumbered by my debt. i believe this house is recorded jt with right of surviorship..am i to understand the debt would expire.when i do? thankyou


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search