California  |  Business Law

question bubble
1/08/05, 10:36 pm

Legal Question


Does this constitute misappropriation?

Hi,

I belongd to a company's website with a trademarked name that provides message boards for it's users. Those users on the message boards have dubbed themselves with a nickname derivative of the company name. (It is not used by the company itself.)

I created a website, sort of a fan site to compliment the company's website, offering free graphics and such for use on their website. My website name uses the nickname their message board visitors are known by. I would like to offer items (not related to the original website) for sale on this site. (I do not currently make any money off this ''fan'' site.) If I brought in an income from this site, would it be considered misappropriation of the company's name? Thank you in advance for answering my question.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search