Re: Corporations
Well, this professional isn't going to go out on a limb and tell you that one is better than the other. In most cases, the differences have little impact on the functioning of the business and its safety and net after-tax profit. There are special situations that make one or the other very preferable, to be sure. I will mention a few of them:
1. Since an "S" corporation cannot have a non-resident alien stockholder, if one of the proposed owners is a nonresident alien that's a good reason to use an LLC.
2. LLCs are subject to an additional franchise tax over and above the $800 per year both LLCs and corporations must pay to the State of California. The tax is based on gross revenues, much like a sales tax. Therefore, LLCs are not great for high-volume, low-margin businesses such as a lot of retailing may be.
3. On the other hand, LLCs often can pass through, as deductible losses, non-"at risk" losses incurred in the startup years of businesses such as research and development, or interest losses from borrowing in certain farming and real-estate development activities, where the losses would be subject to "at risk" limitations if the business were even an "S" corp.
The list goes on and on.
When the professionals advise you one way or the other, the thing to do is ask WHY they make their recommendation. Incidentally, from a liability-limiting protection standpoint, I think protection depends more on knowing and following the rules for operating your business entity than whether the entity is an LLC or corporation.
Finally, don't overlook insurance as a key element in liability protection.