California | Business Law
Legal Question
default on note
Some time ago I lent significant funds to friends in financial need. We documented this with appropriate notes. At maturity, several times now, when they were unable to pay we renegotiated a new note for the subsequent time period. I will no longer be able to accomodate the lender at the next maturity date and have every expectation that the lender will be nonresponsive. Q: What's the standard proceedure for moving quickly upon default on a note? [Do I need to send a demand letter or can I merely move forward? How? Do I need a court notice or judgement of default?] Assuming that I need to appear in court, may I do so anywhere in my state or must it be in the community where the note indicates that payment is due? The borrower is out of state but the note indicates that CA law applies. I assume that once I have a court notice I can leverage resources in that state for collection or recording a lien. Is this correct?


