California | Business Law
Legal Question
Discovery deadline
When is the latest you can send/file your questions with the defendant before the discovery deadline? Is it 30 days before, 45? No limit?
Discovery deadline
When is the latest you can send/file your questions with the defendant before the discovery deadline? Is it 30 days before, 45? No limit?
|
Read More Answered By: Jerold M. Gorski |
Re: Discovery deadline Do you mean written interrogatories? The answer depends on many different facts, including, among others, in which court your action is pending, court orders in your action, how you plan to serve the discovery, etc. If you are attempting to represent yourself, please understand there are an infinite amount of things you must consider. For instance, do you plan to use the interrogatory responses only at trial, or perhaps also in a motion for summary judgment or in preparation for a deposition or something else. You might have to serve additional interrogatories based on the responses to your first set or you might need additional time to compel answers. There is a tremendous amount of strategy and know-how required to prosecute or defend an action. |
|
Read More Answered By: Roy Hoffman |
Re: Discovery deadline Mr. Gorski is correct. It depends on a number of factors. You can conduct discovery until the 30th day before trial, but if you have not completed the discovery process before that time, you will not leave yourself any time to: (1) review the responses to the discovery before trial; (2) bring any motion to compel further responses which may be necessary (remember, parties do not always provide full, complete and meaningful responses simply because you ask them to or they are required to by the code); (3) conduct further written discovery; (4) take depositions (which must begin before the 30-day cut-off); or (5) arrange for any expert witnesses and conduct expert discovery.
If you haven't completed discovery substantially before the 30-day cut-off, you are likely not to complete discovery at all. In fact, you should generally plan on completing all discovery during the last 100 days before trial. |
Huntington Beach, CA
Questions Answered: 13885
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Walnut Creek, CA
Questions Answered: 10416
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 6348
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Tarzana, CA
Questions Answered: 5434
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-16
Mountain View, CA
Questions Answered: 2147
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-01-31
San Diego And Las Vegas, CA
Questions Answered: 2000
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
El Cajon, CA
Questions Answered: 1888
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Orange, CA
Questions Answered: 1596
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-27
► Business with a company outside of US I live in Sacramento county and did business...
► Business located outside US I live in Sacramento county and did business with a...
► Item sold at auction my ''mistake'' I purchased an item at a hospital liquidation...
► UK Comapny operating in the US I would like to know what is required for a UK based...
► Part owner of an LLC want to quit and open a competitive business I currently own a...
► Corporation i have a corporation . we signed a lease for 5 years. But do to the...
► It's that easy to cancel your LLC? I have a one-person california LLC that I want to...
More Business Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press