Re: Employment Agreement
I can't imagine why anyone would offer someone who was on trial a one-year employment contract, much less an option (the probationary employee's option!) to become a singificant part owner. This defies all logic. Did you draft this document yourselves? If so, it may be sufficently deficient in contractual specifics to be unenforceable. For example, if there is no provision for valuing the 49% interest, it might be unenforceable for that reason alone.
You didn't say what the structure of your business is......is it incorporated? I assume it is not an LLC since they can't be used for businesses requiring a contractor's or other professional license. I sure hope it isn't a partnership or proprietorship.
Selling someone a 49% interest in a corporation where you own the other 51% is a mixed bag, assuming you get a decent price. You pocket a wad of cash, and the other person gets a pretty piece of paper. However, the 51% holder has control, and if careful, can run the show including deciding whom to hire for all officer and other positions, including foreman.
A 49% minority shareholder for sure has some rights, but if the 51% owner knows the limits, he can pretty well dominate the 49% shareholder.
Nevertheless, you seem to be running your business without a whole lot of business-law savvy, and before the option exercise date draws near, you should get a full legal check-up from a competent, experienced small-business lawyer.