California  |  Business Law

question bubble
12/23/08, 10:30 pm

Legal Question


Fellow lawguru attorneys - ethics query:

Dear fellow lawguru attorneys - ethics/law practice query for you all (Calling the State Bar tomorrow, if they're around, for their take but if there is no ethics opinion on point, they won't have anything to say):

May I, as a California attorney, in a transactional setting, legally and ethically refuse to provide clients with editable, Word format documents? That is, as opposed to hard copies and/or PDFs. Obviously, if provided, there is little stopping a client from posting what they will call a ''form'' online, making their own changes to it with horrific legal consequences, or sharing it with all their friends with ''similar'' legal needs. On the other hand, arguably, it's part of the client file and they therefore have a right to it (but in a specific format?). Does your analysis change if they sign a retainer agreement agreeing to this policy ahead of time? Thanks for your thoughts.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search