California  |  Business Law

question bubble
4/10/02, 3:33 pm

Legal Question


Forming an Investment Club (Partnership-LLC)

I'm planning on starting an RE investment club, where I will have between 5-10 investors contribute a fixed amount to the club on a monthly basis. Once or twice a year that money will be used to purchase real estate investment properties (rental properties).

My question: Do I need to form some sort of a partnership? If so, what kind? And how do I go about starting one? What is the expected cost? Are there any alternatives?

All partners will contribute between $50-$150 per month. Because of the small amounts, we'd like to minimize all expenses.

Also, I understand that the LLC protects the investors; whereas, one person does all the managing and the day-to-day operations. Does this mean that this person will be liable for everything and the investors won't?

Will a name for the LLC be necessary? If so, does the name have to be registered somewhere? Should a bank account be opened under the business name or with all partners?

When a property is purchased, will the business itself be able to purchase a property or will it have to be purchased by the partners?

Any advice will be greatly appreciated!


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search