California  |  Business Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 7/03/13, 8:10 pm

Mu bussiness is being accused of food poisoning 20 people out of 40 that eat the cake what do i do?

3 Answers


Answered on: 7/03/13, 9:39 pm by John Laurie

Accused by who? Did these people eat cake at your restaurant? Was the cake just made for them? are there 40 random people? we need more facts. Please re post


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gertz and Laurie 18321 Ventura Boulevard Suite 900 Tarzana, CA 91356

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/03/13, 9:44 pm by Kelvin Green

1) Do an internal investigation and see it it is true and figure out why it happened ( if cake was baked by you or came from a supplier may make a difference). P

2) take remedial steps to prevent it from happening again. These steps cannot be used against you.

3) notify your liability insurance carrier

4) get an attorney

5) don't discuss this any further with anyone except your attorney


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Office of Kelvin Green . California Bar #286285, CA ..

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 7/04/13, 9:14 am by Bryan Whipple

If the accusation results in a lawsuit, be sure to retain an attorney and file and serve an answer to the complaint within the allotted time.

Also, preserve any evidence. If you have remains of the cake, package it tightly and refrigerate it.

Finally, it is very important to involve your insurance carrier at the earliest possible time.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Bryan R. R. Whipple, Attorney at Law P O Box 318 Tomales, CA 94971-0318

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

70 Answers given in the last few hours.

86611 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search