California | Business Law
Legal Question
I recently left an employer that offered stock options. The fine print states that upon termination, your stock options are no longer valid. (of course...I didn't know this at the time of my termination). The day after my termination I logged into my stoc options account and sold the rest of my options. It appears the request was executed.
It appears my old company didn't proceed with my terminiation. In fact, I called the payroll department and they believe I am still employeed. They do not have any order to cut me a check for my last day nor for my vacation time (CA requires employers to pay employees their saved vacation time).
So here is my question. Is it possible that my previous employer could block the final sale or payout of my stock options? Is a compay in California required to cut you a check on your final day? (I am trying to see if there is a loophole since the company didn't give me a final check...maybe legally I am still employed thus not allowing the company to block the sale of my stock options.
Any help would be appreciated?
Regards,
Unemployed


