California | Business Law
Legal Question
Seller refuses to sign Escrow Cancellation
Buyer placed $25,000 in escrow to purchase a restaurant.
Deal did not go through. After spending time and money to change alcohol license, etc., it was found that the seller was in arrears on the rent (by many months) and the FF&E that was included in the sale, were not even owned by the seller, but were owned by the landlord.
Buyer pulled out of deal and signed cancellation agreement.
PROBLEM: Seller refuses to sign cancellation.
What can buyer do? He needs the cash and can't afford an attorney. Please advise. Thank you!


