California | Business Law
Legal Question
Small business investment deceit
How do I find an appropriate attorney for this case? I invested 25K in a tour business in 2006. The business was created in New York. The owner will not provide me with tax paperwork or any proof that my investment was used for the business. He will not respond to any of my queries and the business website is down. He is currently working for another tour company running the exact tour that he was advertising with ''our'' business. I believe he took my investment as a personal loan even though I have a promissary note stating that I would own part of the business upon receipt of the money. (This note also states that I can have my money back if corporate filing does not take place within 30 days. Corporate filing took place 60 days later.) I do have a stock certificate containing the business name, but two illegible signatures. I have a detailed chronology of events including copies of emails. I do not have reliable contact information for him at this time. I have been advised to hire a private investigator and an attorney. What kind of info do I need besides the promissary note, stock certificate, and chronology? Do you believe I can get my money back? Any advice is appreciated. Thank you.


