California  |  Business Law

question bubble
6/16/09, 1:55 am

Legal Question


Taxes withdrawn in 2008, not paid until 2009

To Whom It May Concern -

I recently quit my job due to the company owning $10k in back commission and not paying my 2008 taxes even though they deducted from my paycheck.

I have not worked for the company in over three months now. They are paying my taxes now each month - even though these taxes are for the previous year. It is causing a lot of problems as it appears that I am still employed but more importantly I am afraid that could personally be in a lot of trouble with the IRS if they find out what the ex-employer is doing. Currently they owe me over $6k but want to use the money they owe me towards a vehicle loan that is in the company name even though I use it personally. I am fine with this section BUT they do not have plans to immediately pay the auto loan off - instead are continuing the payments until 2010. I do not see this as being fair as this is money that has been owed to me for awhile now - in my mind, it should be paid off immediately so that the title can be transfered to my name. My question is can I go to jail over the IRS/taxes issue - how do I rectify? Addtionally is there anything I can do about the money currently owed and the vehicle? Thank you in advance for you time and advice.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search