California  |  Technology Law

question bubble
4/29/09, 4:13 pm

Legal Question


Cease and desist for my website

I've been sent a couple of emails, and a letter by certified mail to remove an apparently trademarked name from my site. Here's the thing. That name, in no way appears in the title of the site, or the base URL of the site. It does appear in subpages though and also in the content itself. Nothing is negative or defamatory, but they're saying they can bring action against me in the name of the Lanham Act (Title 15) of the US code.

Here's my thing. I stupidly replied to their first email saying I'd comply. I've since put the content back on the site, and now they're giving me a deadline to take it off. This seems like corporate bullying to me, but I wanted to seek a qualified opinion.

Thank you,

-M


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search