California | Technology Law
9/03/09, 2:26 pm
Legal Question
can a person from ca file a small claim in ca from a person in utah ?
can a person from ca file a small claim in ca from a person in utah ?
|
Read More Answered By: Robert F. Cohen |
It depends whether the Utah person had minimum contacts with CA, or the transaction was CA-related. |
|
Read More Answered By: Bryan Whipple |
Mr. Cohen is right, and there is an additional hurdle: obtaining service of process. The defendant must be served in California, which may be impossible if the person never comes here, or visits without tipping you off. There are two exceptions (see Code of Civil Procedure section 116.340(e), (f) and (g)): if the claim relates to California real estate owned by the person, or if the case involves a motor vehicle accident that occurred in California. In either of these two situations, the defendant can be served in Utah, or wherever he can be found. |
Tomales, CA
Questions Answered: 12213
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-26
Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 6472
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
Ontario, CA
Questions Answered: 1584
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-04
Las Vegas, NV
Questions Answered: 1456
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-25
San Francisco, CA
Questions Answered: 1146
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-01-03
San Diego And Los Angeles, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Westlake Village, CA
Questions Answered: 593
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-11
Woodland Hills, CA
Questions Answered: 362
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-10-24
Aptos, CA
Questions Answered: 339
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-12-16
► Is it legal for me to clean items that would normally be perfectly legal to have on...
► A lap top was stolen from my office. I viewed the surveillance and have a suspect...
► LuAna Harmon, Special Investigator for FBI called and left a message about speaking...
► I want to design greeting cards to sell. I purchased a computer software program...
► Who is responsible for the website. The person who owns the domain name or the...
► I'm curious as to how one would get included in the current lawsuit against Facebook...
► We are (were) a partnership of 3 individuals and the main developer decided that he...
More Computer & Technology Law questions and answers in California| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press