California | Constitutional Law
Legal Question
Violation of Constitutional Rights?
About 3 years ago my husband went to a gun show with my father to purchase a handgun legally. He picked one out, gave the money, and filled out the appropriate paperwork. A couple of weeks later he was notified that the Department of Justice had denied his request to obtain a firearm due to his criminal past. Now my husband has no felonies and according to the Department of Justice's own policy a misdemeanor can be used to deny for five years after conviction. The problem lies in the fact that my husbands misdemeanors were over twelve years since conviction date. Has the Department of Justice violated his Constitutional right to bear arms? Thank You for your time.


